Discipline and Punish

Discipline and Punish Pdf

Discipline and Punish

Author: Michel Foucault

Publisher: Vintage

ISBN: 0307819299

Genre: Social Science

Page: 352

GET EBOOK

Book Summary: In this brilliant work, the most influential philosopher since Sartre suggests that such vaunted reforms as the abolition of torture and the emergence of the modern penitentiary have merely shifted the focus of punishment from the prisoner's body to his soul.


Sapiens

Sapiens Pdf

Sapiens

Author: Yuval Noah Harari

Publisher: Signal

ISBN: 0771038526

Genre: History

Page: 512

DOWNLOAD

Book Summary: NATIONAL BESTSELLER NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Destined to become a modern classic in the vein of Guns, Germs, and Steel, Sapiens is a lively, groundbreaking history of humankind told from a unique perspective. 100,000 years ago, at least six species of human inhabited the earth. Today there is just one. Us. Homo Sapiens. How did our species succeed in the battle for dominance? Why did our foraging ancestors come together to create cities and kingdoms? How did we come to believe in gods, nations, and human rights; to trust money, books, and laws; and to be enslaved by bureaucracy, timetables, and consumerism? And what will our world be like in the millennia to come? In Sapiens, Dr. Yuval Noah Harari spans the whole of human history, from the very first humans to walk the earth to the radical -- and sometimes devastating -- breakthroughs of the Cognitive, Agricultural, and Scientific Revolutions. Drawing on insights from biology, anthropology, palaeontology, and economics, he explores how the currents of history have shaped our human societies, the animals and plants around us, and even our personalities. Have we become happier as history has unfolded? Can we ever free our behaviour from the heritage of our ancestors? And what, if anything, can we do to influence the course of the centuries to come? Bold, wide-ranging and provocative, Sapiens challenges everything we thought we knew about being human: our thoughts, our actions, our power...and our future.


Love in the Time of Cholera

Love in the Time of Cholera Pdf

Love in the Time of Cholera

Author: Gabriel García Márquez

Publisher: Vintage

ISBN: 1101911115

Genre: Fiction

Page: 368

DOWNLOAD

Book Summary: "A love story of astonishing power." - Newsweek The International Bestseller and modern literary classic by Nobel Prize-winning author Gabriel Garcia Marquez In their youth, Florentino Ariza and Fermina Daza fall passionately in love. When Fermina eventually chooses to marry a wealthy, well-born doctor, Florentino is devastated, but he is a romantic. As he rises in his business career he whiles away the years in 622 affairs--yet he reserves his heart for Fermina. Her husband dies at last, and Florentino purposefully attends the funeral. Fifty years, nine months, and four days after he first declared his love for Fermina, he will do so again.


Diplomacy

Diplomacy Pdf

Diplomacy

Author: Henry Kissinger

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1439126313

Genre: History

Page: 912

DOWNLOAD

Book Summary: A brilliant, sweeping history of diplomacy that includes personal stories from the noted former Secretary of State, including his stunning reopening of relations with China. The seminal work on foreign policy and the art of diplomacy. Moving from a sweeping overview of history to blow-by-blow accounts of his negotiations with world leaders, Henry Kissinger describes how the art of diplomacy has created the world in which we live, and how America’s approach to foreign affairs has always differed vastly from that of other nations. Brilliant, controversial, and profoundly incisive, Diplomacy stands as the culmination of a lifetime of diplomatic service and scholarship. It is vital reading for anyone concerned with the forces that have shaped our world today and will impact upon it tomorrow.


I Suffer Not a Woman

I Suffer Not a Woman Pdf

I Suffer Not a Woman

Author: Richard Clark Kroeger,Catherine Clark Kroeger

Publisher: Baker Academic

ISBN: 1441206183

Genre: Religion

Page: 250

DOWNLOAD

Book Summary: Solid scriptural and archaeological evidence refutes the traditional interpretation used to bar women from leadership.


The Journey of Being Human

The Journey of Being Human Pdf

The Journey of Being Human

Author: Osho

Publisher: St. Martin\'s Griffin

ISBN: 1429942541

Genre: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 224

DOWNLOAD

Book Summary: One of the twentieth century’s greatest spiritual teachers invites you onto the path that takes you through all of life’s experiences and to embrace your own humanity. Man is a bridge, says Osho, between the animal and the divine—and our awareness of this dual aspect of our nature is what makes us human. It is also what makes us restless, full of conflict, so often at the crossroads of selfishness and generosity, of love and hate, frailty and strength, hope and despair. The Journey of Being Human: Is It Possible to Find Real Happiness in Ordinary Life? looks into how we might embrace and accept these apparent contradictions, rather than trying to choose between them, as the key to transforming each twist and turn of life’s journey into a new discovery of who we are meant to be. Osho challenges readers to examine and break free of the conditioned belief systems and prejudices that limit their capacity to enjoy life in all its richness. He has been described by the Sunday Times of London as one of the “1000 Makers of the 20th Century” and by Sunday Mid-Day (India) as one of the ten people—along with Gandhi, Nehru, and Buddha—who have changed the destiny of India. Since his death in 1990, the influence of his teachings continues to expand, reaching seekers of all ages in virtually every country of the world.


Desire and Domestic Fiction

Desire and Domestic Fiction Pdf

Desire and Domestic Fiction

Author: Nancy Armstrong

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 0199879036

Genre: Literary Criticism

Page: 320

DOWNLOAD

Book Summary: Desire and Domestic Fiction argues that far from being removed from historical events, novels by writers from Richardson to Woolf were themselves agents of the rise of the middle class. Drawing on texts that range from 18th-century female conduct books and contract theory to modern psychoanalytic case histories and theories of reading, Armstrong shows that the emergence of a particular form of female subjectivity capable of reigning over the household paved the way for the establishment of institutions which today are accepted centers of political power. Neither passive subjects nor embattled rebels, the middle-class women who were authors and subjects of the major tradition of British fiction were among the forgers of a new form of power that worked in, and through, their writing to replace prevailing notions of "identity" with a gender-determined subjectivity. Examining the works of such novelists as Samuel Richardson, Jane Austen, and the Bront?s, she reveals the ways in which these authors rewrite the domestic practices and sexual relations of the past to create the historical context through which modern institutional power would seem not only natural but also humane, and therefore to be desired.


The Gutenberg Galaxy

The Gutenberg Galaxy Pdf

The Gutenberg Galaxy

Author: Marshall McLuhan

Publisher: University of Toronto Press

ISBN: 1487516878

Genre: Social Science

Page: 336

DOWNLOAD

Book Summary: The Gutenberg Galaxy catapulted Marshall McLuhan to fame as a media theorist and, in time, a new media prognosticator. Fifty years after its initial publication, this landmark text is more significant than ever before. Readers will be amazed by McLuhan’s prescience, unmatched by anyone since, predicting as he did the dramatic technological innovations that have fundamentally changed how we communicate. The Gutenberg Galaxy foresaw the networked, compressed ‘global village’ that would emerge in the late-twentieth and twenty-first centuries — despite having been written when black-and-white television was ubiquitous. This new edition of The Gutenberg Galaxy celebrates both the centennial of McLuhan’s birth and the fifty-year anniversary of the book’s publication. A new interior design updates The Gutenberg Galaxy for twenty-first-century readers, while honouring the innovative, avant-garde spirit of the original. This edition also includes new introductory essays that illuminate McLuhan’s lasting effect on a variety of scholarly fields and popular culture. A must-read for those who inhabit today’s global village, The Gutenberg Galaxy is an indispensable road map for our evolving communication landscape.


Sketches of Jewish Social Life

Sketches of Jewish Social Life Pdf

Sketches of Jewish Social Life

Author: Edersheim, Alfred

Publisher: Delmarva Publications, Inc.

ISBN:

Genre: History

Page: 296

DOWNLOAD

Book Summary: In this volume, Rev. Alfred Edersheim transports the reader into the land of Palestine and gives them a deep look into the land of Palestine at the time of Jesus. Table of Contents: Chapter 1 1. Palestine Eighteen Centuries Ago Chapter 2 2. Jews and Gentiles in "the Land" Chapter 3 3. In Galilee at the Time of our Lord Chapter 4 4. Travelling in Palestine: Roads, Inns, Hospitality, Custom-House Officers, Taxation, Publicans Chapter 5 5. In Judaea Chapter 6 6. Jewish Homes Chapter 7 7. The Upbringing of Jewish Children Chapter 8 8. Subjects of Study. Home Education in Israel; Female Education. Schools and Schoolmasters. Chapter 9 9. Mothers, Daughters, and Wives in Israel Chapter 10 10. In Death and after Death Chapter 11 11. Jewish Views on Trade, Tradesman, and Trades Chapter 12 12. Commerce Chapter 13 13. Among the People, and with the Pharisees Chapter 14 14. The "Fraternity" of Pharisees Chapter 15 15. Relation of the Pharisees to the Sadducees and Essenes, and to the Gospel of Christ Chapter 16 16. Synagogues: their Origin, Structure, and Outward Arrangements Chapter 17 17. The Worship of the Synagogue Chapter 18 18. Outline of Ancient Jewish Theological Literature Appendix I Appendix I. Translation of the Mishnic Tractate "Middoth"