The Lair of the White Worm

The Lair of the White Worm Pdf

The Lair of the White Worm

Author: ,

Publisher: OBG Classics

ISBN: 2291049208

Genre: Fiction

Page: 123

GET EBOOK

Book Summary: In a tale of ancient evil, Bram Stoker creates a world of lurking horrors and bizarre denizens: a demented mesmerist, hellbent on mentally crushing the girl he loves; a gigantic kite raised to rid the land of an unnatural infestation of birds, and which receives strange commands along its string; and all the while, the great white worm slithers below, seeking its next victim... Bram Stoker, creator of Dracula, is one of the most enduring and masterful influences on the literature of terror.


I'll Give You the Sun

I'll Give You the Sun Pdf

I'll Give You the Sun

Author: Jandy Nelson

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101593849

Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 384

DOWNLOAD

Book Summary: The New York Times Bestselling story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, Nicola Yoon, Jonathan Tropper, Emma Straub, and Rainbow Rowell “We were all heading for each other on a collision course, no matter what. Maybe some people are just meant to be in the same story.” At first, Jude and her twin brother are NoahandJude; inseparable. Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude wears red-red lipstick, cliff-dives, and does all the talking for both of them. Years later, they are barely speaking. Something has happened to change the twins in different yet equally devastating ways . . . but then Jude meets an intriguing, irresistible boy and a mysterious new mentor. The early years are Noah’s to tell; the later years are Jude’s. But they each have only half the story, and if they can only find their way back to one another, they’ll have a chance to remake their world. This radiant, award-winning novel from the acclaimed author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once. Printz Award Winner Stonewall Honor Book "A wild, beautiful, and profoundly moving novel. Jandy Nelson’s writing is so electric, so alive, her pages practically glow in the dark." —Ransom Riggs, New York Times bestselling author of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children and Hollow City "Jandy Nelson is a rare, explosive talent, and one of the best writers working today. Her prose is vivid, breathtaking, and drenched in passion, and her stories remind me why words can change the world." —Tahereh Mafi, New York Times bestselling author of the Shatter Me series. "I love this book. Jandy Nelson is my new writing hero. Read this book. She'll be your favorite author as well." —Holly Goldberg Sloan, New York Times bestselling author of Counting by 7s "Jandy Nelson’s writing is poetic and mesmerizing. More importantly, Nelson weaves a novel that seeps into your bones like fire on a cold day . . . I’ll Give You the Sun is a novel that promises a story like nothing else and then delivers it.” —Garret Freymann-Weyr, author of Printz Honor book, My Heartbeat "This is a stunning, artfully woven story. My heart burst open at the blazing, unforgettable end. Magnificent." —Nova Ren Suma, author of Imaginary Girls and 17 & Gone "An extraordinary book! I've never read anything like it. Lyrical-unique-passionate-magical-tragic-hopeful—Nelson's characters will fly off the page and into your heart." —Nancy Garden, author of Annie on my Mind


The Synonym Finder

The Synonym Finder Pdf

The Synonym Finder

Author: J. I. Rodale

Publisher: Rodale Books

ISBN: 162336759X

Genre: Reference

Page: 1368

DOWNLOAD

Book Summary: Originally published in 1961 by the founder of Rodale Inc., The Synonym Finder continues to be a practical reference tool for every home and office. This thesaurus contains more than 1 million synonyms, arranged alphabetically, with separate subdivisions for the different parts of speech and meanings of the same word.


From Girl to Goddess

From Girl to Goddess Pdf

From Girl to Goddess

Author: Valerie Estelle Frankel

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN: 9780786457892

Genre: Social Science

Page: 376

DOWNLOAD

Book Summary: Many are familiar with Joseph Campbell’s theory of the hero’s journey, the idea that every man from Moses to Hercules grows to adulthood while battling his alter-ego. This book explores the universal heroine’s journey as she quests through world myth. Numerous stories from cultures as varied as Chile and Vietnam reveal heroines who battle for safety and identity, thereby upsetting popular notions of the passive, gentle heroine. Only after she has defeated her dark side and reintegrated can the heroine become the bestower of wisdom, the protecting queen and arch-crone. Instructors considering this book for use in a course may request an examination copy here.


Conjunctions and Interjections in Modern Standard Arabic

Conjunctions and Interjections in Modern Standard Arabic Pdf

Conjunctions and Interjections in Modern Standard Arabic

Author: Abdulkareem Said Ramadan

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1351585665

Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 178

DOWNLOAD

Book Summary: Conjunctions and Interjections in Modern Standard Arabic is a grammar for Modern Standard Arabic introducing conjunctions and interjections from the most basic to the most advanced, with drills for each grammatical point. Skill in the use of conjunctions and interjections is essential for acquiring proficiency in expressing relationships of causation, order, time sequence and other relationships among events and ideas. Each chapter presents the grammar of conjunctions and interjections in clearly organized tables with examples of each use. An additional section presents multiple drills for practice and functional use. Aimed as a textbook for students for all four years of university Arabic, and for independent learners.


American Stories: To 1877

American Stories: To 1877 Pdf

American Stories: To 1877

Author: Jason Ripper

Publisher: M.E. Sharpe

ISBN: 0765629038

Genre: History

Page: 299

DOWNLOAD

Book Summary: This book is ideal for any introductory American history instructor who wants to make the subject more appealing. It's designed to supplement a main text, and focuses on "personalized history" presented through engaging biographies of famous and less-well-known figures from the colonial period to 1877. Historical patterns and trends appear as they are seen through individual lives, and the selection of the profiled individuals reflects a cultural awareness and a multicultural perspective.


Reading Shakespeare in the Movies

Reading Shakespeare in the Movies Pdf

Reading Shakespeare in the Movies

Author: Eric S. Mallin

Publisher: Springer Nature

ISBN: 3030288986

Genre: Literary Criticism

Page: 254

DOWNLOAD

Book Summary: Reading Shakespeare in the Movies: Non-Adaptations and Their Meaning analyzes the unacknowledged, covert presence of Shakespearean themes, structures, characters, and symbolism in selected films. Writers and directors who forge an unconscious, unintentional connection to Shakespeare’s work create non-adaptations, cinema that is unexpectedly similar to certain Shakespeare plays while remaining independent as art. These films can illuminate core semantic issues in those plays in ways that direct adaptations cannot. Eric S. Mallin explores how Shakespeare illuminates these movies, analyzing the ways that The Godfather, Memento, Titanic, Birdman, and The Texas Chainsaw Massacre take on new life in dialogue with the famous playwright. In addition to challenging our ideas about adaptation, Mallin works to inspire new awareness of the meanings of Shakespearean stories in the contemporary world.


The Abandoned Room

The Abandoned Room Pdf

The Abandoned Room

Author: Wadsworth Camp

Publisher: 1st World Publishing

ISBN: 1421822075

Genre: Fiction

Page: 312

DOWNLOAD

Book Summary: This is a pre-1923 historical reproduction that was curated for quality. Quality assurance was conducted on each of these books in an attempt to remove books with imperfections introduced by the digitization process. Though we have made best efforts - the books may have occasional errors that do not impede the reading experience. We believe this work is culturally important and have elected to bring the book back into print as part of our continuing commitment to the preservation of printed works worldwide.


American Stories from 1865

American Stories from 1865 Pdf

American Stories from 1865

Author: Jason Ripper

Publisher: M.E. Sharpe

ISBN: 0765629046

Genre: History

Page: 279

DOWNLOAD

Book Summary: This book is ideal for any introductory American history instructor who wants to make the subject more appealing. It's designed to supplement a main text, and focuses on "personalized history" presented through engaging biographies of famous and less-well-known figures from the colonial period to 1877. Historical patterns and trends appear as they are seen through individual lives, and the selection of the profiled individuals reflects a cultural awareness and a multicultural perspective.


Methodius Buslaev. The Midnight Wizard

Methodius Buslaev. The Midnight Wizard Pdf

Methodius Buslaev. The Midnight Wizard

Author: Dmitrii Emets

Publisher: Litres

ISBN: 5040060416

Genre: Fiction

Page: N.A

DOWNLOAD

Book Summary: В Книге Судеб записано, что Мефодий Буслаев пройдет лабиринт Храма Вечного Ристалища в день своего тринадцатилетия. Мальчишка, родившийся в минуту полного солнечного затмения, впитал тайный страх миллионов смертных. Именно тогда в нем пробудился дар. Благодаря своему дару, не осознавая того, он аккумулирует в себе самые разные энергии окружающих: любви, боли, страха, восторга, злости – и трансформирует их в абсолютную магию. Его дар и то, что он вынесет из Храма Вечного Ристалища, нужны стражам Тьмы, нужны и стражам Света... Как, сделав выбор между Светом и Тьмой, остаться собой? На этот вопрос Мефодию придется искать ответ самому...